ICT is everyone’s responsibility: Prime Minister Gaston Browne

Hon. Gaston Browne, Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda, delivers the feature address at the Opening Ceremony of ICT Week Antigua and Barbuda.

Antigua, the island of 365 beaches, was the location of the ICT Week and Symposium. The Government of Antigua and Barbuda, in collaboration with the Caribbean Telecommunications Union (CTU), hosted this event from 20th – 24th March 2017, the theme of which was ICT – Driving 21st Century Intelligent Services.

Hon. Gaston Browne, Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda, Minister of Finance and Corporate Governance, in delivering the feature address at the Opening Ceremony, stated that everyone needs to get involved in ICT. “ICT is inclusive and all empowering. Promoting ICT is everyone’s responsibility; it is everyone’s business. We need to apply digital thinking and digital policies everywhere.”

The Secretary General of the CTU Ms. Bernadette Lewis in her opening remarks noted the global changes as a result of rapid technological innovation.

(L-R ) – Ms. Bernadette Lewis, Secretary General of the CTU; Hon. Gaston Browne, Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda, and Hon. Melford Nicholas, Minister of Information, Broadcasting, Telecommunications and Information Technology pose for a group photo at the Opening Ceremony of ICT Week Antigua and Barbuda, hosted by the Government of Antigua and Barbuda in collaboration with the CTU.

“The world has changed at a fundamental level as a result of rapid technological innovation and convergence of information and communication technologies, creating new modes of communication, erasing geographical boundaries, compressing time, providing real-time access to a global audience, changing the way business is conducted presenting a virtual reality into which more and more of our lives are becoming entwined,” she said. (more…)

Charter for Caribbean Public Services endorsed at Regional Ministerial Symposium

L-R: Mr. Devon L. Rowe, Executive Director of CARICAD; Hon. Samantha Marshall, Minister of the Public Service, Antigua and Barbuda and His Excellency Wrigley George, Ambassador to the International Labour Organization, Antigua and Barbuda

A Charter for the public services of the Caribbean was endorsed at a Ministerial Symposium that took place at the Jolly Beach Hotel in Antigua and Barbuda on March, 9 and 10, 2017.

The Charter identifies components of a professional and effective public service. It establishes a general framework of guiding principles, policies and management mechanisms reflecting a common commitment of the Public Services of the Caribbean Region. It is intended to serve as a catalyst for the reform, modernisation and transformation of national public sector entities within the context of each country’s realities and priorities. Consultations took place in Caribbean Centre for Development Administration (CARICAD) member states ahead of the Symposium to allow citizens to discuss the Charter and provide feedback.

Caribbean Centre for Development Administration
The Caribbean Centre for Development Administration (CARICAD) based in Bridgetown, Barbados, was established by a decision of the CARICOM Heads of Government in 1975.CARICAD is an institution of CARICOM under the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas. It became fully operational in 1980. CARICAD is the Region’s focal point for transforming and modernising public sectors of member states to better formulate and implement public policy towards the achievement of sound governance. CARICAD’s focus has been on shaping and enhancing the development and sustainability of strong governance and leadership structures. CARICAD’s work programme is financed by annual contributions from member governments and supplemented by funding from Development Partners. Membership of CARICAD is open to CARICOM states and Overseas Territories within the Caribbean region. There are seventeen members of CARICAD: Anguilla; Antigua and Barbuda; Bahamas; Barbados; Belize; British Virgin Islands; Dominica; Grenada; Guyana; Jamaica; Montserrat; St. Kitts and Nevis; Saint Lucia; St. Vincent and the Grenadines; Suriname; Trinidad and Tobago Turks and Caicos Islands. Visit the CARICAD website at www.caricad.net for more information and copies of presentations made during the symposium.