Guyana Agreement remembered on ACP Day

0 1,885

Friday, June 7, 2019 is celebrated as ACP Day..

The Georgetown Agreement establishing the African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) Group of States was signed on Friday, June 6, 1975 in Georgetown, Guyana.

46 countries signed the Agreement, 37 African, 6 Caribbean and 3 Pacific. Today, the ACP, headquartered in Brussels, Belgium, has a membership of 79 countries, 48 African, 16 Caribbean and 15 Pacific.

ACP General Secretary Dr P.I. Gomes

The Georgetown Agreement was revised in 2003 and is now being further revised to achieve the ACP which the members want for the future. The ACP is also negotiating a new ACP/EU Post Cotonou Agreement.

See Message by ACP Secretary-General, Guyanese Dr Patrick I. Gomes to mark ACP Day.

Submitted by Elizabeth Morgan, Specialist in International Trade Policy and International Politics

%d bloggers like this: