Prime Minister Harris gets a second term


The people of St. Kitts and Nevis have voted to return the Team Unity administration of Prime Minister Dr Timothy Harris to office.

Preliminary results for the Friday 5 June 2020 General Elections show the three-party Team Unity coalition set to win up to six of the eight seats on St. Kitts and all three seats on Nevis. The coalition had seven of the eleven seats in the last parliament.

Leader of the main opposition St. Kitts and Nevis Labour Party Dr Denzil Douglas retained his seat.

A CARICOM Election Observation Mission is in St. Kitts and Nevis to monitor the elections.

The Mission, whose role included monitoring the voting process – the opening of the poll, the casting of votes, the closing of polls and the counting of ballots – will issue a Preliminary Statement based on its observations and findings. A Report on the General Elections will be subsequently  prepared and submitted to the CARICOM Secretary-General.

The three-member Mission is headed by Mr. Gasper Jean Baptiste, Chief Elections Officer of Saint Lucia, who has served as a member of CARICOM Election Observation Missions to other CARICOM Member States.   The other members of the Mission are:

  • H.E. Mr. Arley Gill (National of Grenada); and
  • Mr. Chester Arlington Humphrey (National of Grenada).

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: