Anguillans vote for change


Anguillans voted the main opposition Anguilla Progressive Movement (APM) into office in general elections held on Monday 29 June 2020.

Dr Ellis Webster

The APM, led by medical doctor Ellis Webster,  won seven of the eleven seats at stake, with the other four going to the incumbent Anguilla United Front of Premier Victor Banks.  Mr Banks was one of the casualties of the elections, losing his seat to 27 year-old Dianne Kentish Rogers.

Under Anguilla’s electoral system, the voters elect seven parliamentarians in single member constituencies through the first-past-the-post method, while four At-Large parliamentarians are elected by voting across the entire island.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: