Elections Day in Saint Lucia


Saint Lucians are voting in General Elections today Monday 26 July 2021.

Three political parties and four independent candidates are facing the electorate of about 160,000 registered voters.

Prime Minister Allen Chastanet is again leading his United Workers Party (UWP) into today’s polls; Opposition Leader Phillip J Pierre is leading the main opposition Saint Lucia Labour Party; and Mr Andre DeCaires leads the newly formed Saint Lucia Green Party. Former Prime Minister Mr Stephenson King is among the four Independent candidates.

Polls opened at 6:00 a.m. ECT and are scheduled to close at 6:00 p.m.

CARICOM Election Observation Mission

A ten-member CARICOM Election Observation Mission led by Ms. Fern Narcis-Scope, Chief Elections Officer of the Elections and Boundaries Commission of Trinidad and Tobago, is in Saint Lucia for the elections.

The Mission is today observing the Election Day activities including the opening of the polls through to the tabulation and announcement of the results.

Following the conclusion of the Election Day activities, a Preliminary Statement will be issued outlining the Mission’s initial assessment of the electoral process. The Mission will thereafter prepare a detailed Independent Final Report on the election for submission to CARICOM Secretary-General Ambassador Irwin LaRocque. 

See Statement issued by the Mission following their arrival in Saint Lucia: Arrival Statement

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: