PM Holness Announces No Movement Days To Curb COVID-19 Surge

Prime Minister, the Most Hon. Andrew Holness, addressing a virtual press conference on Thursday (August 19). (Photo via JIS)
1,600

(Jamaica Information Service Press Release) Prime Minister, the Most Hon. Andrew Holness, has announced seven no movement days in a bid to curb the latest surge in coronavirus (COVID-19) cases in Jamaica.

Those days are Sunday, August 22; Monday, August 23; Tuesday, August 24; Sunday, August 29; Monday, August 30; Tuesday, August 31; and Sunday, September 5.

Tightening of the curfews, which form part of the Government’s infection prevention and control measures, are also aimed at reducing hospitalisations and deaths.

The new measures come as the virus’ more transmissible Delta variant was confirmed to be present in Jamaica.

Prime Minister Holness made the announcement during a virtual press conference on Thursday (August 19).

He advised that the existing curfew hours will be adjusted on Friday (August 20) and Saturday (August 21) to allow persons adequate time to procure essential items ahead of the first lockdown period.

The curfew will begin at 9:00 p.m. on Friday and end at five o’clock on Saturday morning.

Read more at: Jamaica Information Service

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: