PM Rowley Co-chairs US/Caribbean Energy Security Action Committee

Trinidad and Tobago Prime Minister, Dr. Keith Rowley and Minister of Energy the Hon. Stuart Young at the meeting (Photo via OPM TT)

(TTT Press Release) Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley co-chaired the first meeting of the US/Caribbean Energy Security Action Committee (yesterday), Tuesday 12 July, 2022.

The Committee was established following the high-level meeting between CARICOM/CARIFORUM leaders, US President Joseph Biden and Vice-President, Kamala Harris in June at the IX Summit of the Americas in Los Angeles, California.

The Prime Minister will lead efforts to develop a joint action plan to address identified energy security issues impacting the Caribbean. The US has indicated that it is committed to working with the region to confront these challenges and towards creating a work programme aimed at sustainable energy security.

Dr Rowley was nominated by fellow regional heads as co-chair of the Committee. Minister of Energy and Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister, the Hon. Stuart Young also participated in (the) meeting and will continue to assist in the Committee’s ongoing work.

Amos Hochstein, State Department Senior Advisor for Energy Security, is the designated US lead on the Committee.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: