CCJ’S new President to be honoured with special sitting

New President of the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ), Justice Adrian Saunders, took the oath of office in July
0 1,038

(Caribbean Court of Justice Press Release) Port of Spain, Trinidad. The Honourable Mr. Justice Adrian Saunders, President of the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) will be honoured with the first of two Special Sittings of the Court.

The first Special Sitting will be held on Friday, 13 July, 2018, at the CCJ’s headquarters in Trinidad and Tobago starting at 9:30 am. The new President was installed at a ceremony in Montego Bay, Jamaica on 4 July 2018 and this will be an opportunity to mark the milestone at the Court. The second Special Sitting will take place in Mr. Justice Saunders’ home country of St. Vincent and the Grenadines on the 20th of July. Both Special Sittings will be streamed live on the Court’s website,

The Special Sitting will be helmed by the Hon. Mr. Justice Wit, Judge of the CCJ and will feature remarks by the Hon. Mr. Justice Ivor Archie, ORTT, Chief Justice of Trinidad and Tobago; the Hon. Sir Marston Gibson, KA, Chief Justice of Barbados; the Hon. Mme. Yonette Cummings-Edwards, CCH, Chief Justice of Guyana; the Hon. Mr. Fitzgerald Hinds, MP, Minister in the Ministry of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs in Trinidad and Tobago; Professor Rose-Marie Belle Antoine, Dean of the Faculty of Law, The University of the West Indies, St. Augustine
campus; Mme. Justice Sandra Oxner (Retired), O.C., DCL (Hon.) LL.D (Hon.), Founding President of the Commonwealth Judicial Education Institute.

Other speakers include Mr. Douglas Mendes, SC, President, of the Law Association of Trinidad and Tobago; Ms. Liesel Weekes, President of the Barbados Bar Association; Mr. Kamal Ramkarran, President of the Bar Association of Guyana; Mr. Wainwright Iton, former Chief Executive Officer of the Trinidad and Tobago Stock Exchange, and Dr David S. Berry, Dean of the Faculty of Law, The University of the West Indies, Cave Hill campus. The Special Sitting will close with a speech, in response to the remarks, by Mr. Justice Saunders.

It is also expected that other members of Government from Trinidad and Tobago, representatives from regional organisations, senior judges and attorney and a number of other distinguished guests from across the Region will also be in attendance at the Special Sitting.

Later that evening, the Caribbean Association of Judicial Officers (CAJO) will host a fundraising dinner party honouring Mr. Justice Saunders, at the Queen’s Park Cricket Club, in Port of Spain starting at 7 pm. Mr. Justice Saunders has been the Chairman of CAJO since its inception in 2009.

The Hon. Mr. Justice Adrian Saunders, a native of St. Vincent and the Grenadines, holds a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of the West Indies (Cave Hill) in 1975 and a Legal Education Certificate from the Hugh Wooding Law School in Trinidad & Tobago in 1977. In 2005, Mr. Justice Saunders was among the first cohort of judges to join the CCJ bench before being elevated to President.

%d bloggers like this: