Former CARICOM Deputy Secretary-General on Barbados’ 2019 Independence Day Honours List

Amb. Lolita Applewhaite
0 1,496

Former Deputy Secretary-General of CARICOM, Ambassador Lolita Applewhaite is among the awardees on the Barbados Independence Honours List. The list was released as Barbados celebrates its independence anniversary on Saturday.

Ambassador Applewhaite received the Companion of Honour for distinguished national achievement and merit. She was honoured for her outstanding contribution to public service in Barbados and to diplomacy and development through high-level representation in the region and the Commonwealth.

Principal and pro-vice chancellor of the UWI Cave Hill Campus, Professor Eudine Barriteau

Principal of The University of the West Indies, Pro Vice Chancellor Professor Eudine Barriteau,  and Dr. Anthony ‘Mighty Gabby’ Carter received the first Order of Freedom of Barbados, now the highest national honour. The award is for extraordinary service to Barbados, the Caribbean diaspora or to humanity at large.

President of Ghana, His Excellency Mr. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo received  an Honorary Order of Freedom of Barbados for his distinguished and extraordinary service to Barbados, the Caribbean Diaspora and to humanity at large. The President of Ghana visited Barbados in June.

PM of Barbados the Hon. Mia Mottley and President of Ghana H.E. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo (Photo via BGIS)

Please see the full list of honourees here

%d bloggers like this: