New St. Kitts-Nevis Cabinet sworn in

0 3,164
St. Kitts Nevis cabinet 2
The full Cabinet. Prime Minister Dr. Hon. Timothy Harris is 5th from left; Deputy Prime Minister Hon. Shawn Richards is 3rd from left; and Hon. Vance Amory , Senior Minister and current Premier of Nevis is far right (SKNIS photo)


St. Kitts-Nevis new Prime Minister Dr. Hon. Timothy Harris has announced a nine-member  Cabinet of Ministers  to administer the affairs of the twin-island Federation.

The full cabinet took the oath of office before Governor General Sir Edmund Lawrence  at a well-attended swearing-in ceremony at the Warner Park Cricket Stadium, Sunday afternoon.

You may be interested in...

Prime Minister Harris’ three-party alliance – Team Unity, which includes his People’s Labour Party (PLP), the Peoples Action Movement (PAM) and the Concerned Citizens Movement (CCM), won seven of the 11 seats in elections on February 16 to take the reins of government.

Stressing that his is a government of national unity, Prime Minister Harris named the Leader of PAM Hon. Shawn Richards as Deputy Prime Minister and Leader of the CCM Hon. Vance Amory who is also Premier of Nevis, as Senior Minister.

St. Kitts Nevis cabinet crowd
A large, appreciative crowd turned out to witness the Cabinet swearing in ceremony (SKNIS photo)

See full list of appointments:

The new Cabinet of St. Kitts and Nevis

Dr.  Hon.  Timothy Harris:  Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, Sustainable Development, National Security, People Empowerment, and Constituency Empowerment.

Hon. Shawn Richards: Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Education, Youth, Sport, and Culture

Hon. Vance Amory: Senior Minister, and Minister of Nevis Affairs, Labour, Social security, and Ecclesiastical affairs.

Hon. Mark Brantley:  Minister of Foreign Affairs and Aviation.

Hon. Eugene Hamilton: Minister of Agriculture, Health, National Health Insurance, Human Settlement, Community Development, Gender Affairs, Social Services, Cooperatives and Land.

Hon. Lindsay Grant: Minister of Tourism, International Trade, Industry and Commerce.

Hon. Ian “Patches” Liburd:  Minister responsible for Public Infrastructure, Post Urban Development, and Transport.

Senator Vincent Byron:  Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Legal Affairs, and Communications

Senator Wendy Phipps:  Minister of State within The Ministry of Health, Community Development, Gender Affairs and Social Services.


Also Appointed

Senator Anthony Michael Perkins:  Senator in the National Assembly.



%d bloggers like this: