CARICOM Observers visit Polling Places in Guyana’s Elections

0 857

The CARICOM Elections Observation Mission were Monday visiting polling stations to monitor the voting process in Guyana’s 2 March General and Regional Elections.

Head of the Observation Mission Ms Cynthia Combie Martyr leaves a Polling Place in South Ruimveldt, Georgetown, Monday

The 17-member Mission began their visits with the 6:00 a.m. opening of the 2,339 polling stations across the country, and will continue until the polls close at 6:00 p.m.  The Members will then gather for a debriefing session, after which they will issue a Preliminary Report.

Renuka Raghoe from Suriname (left) and Alix Boyd-Knights from Dominica observing the voting process as part of the CARICOM Observation Mission

The CARICOM Observation Mission is led by Chairperson of the Saint Lucia Electoral Commission Ms Cynthia Combie Martyr and also includes: Mr John Jarvis and Ms Carolyn Thomas Parker from Antigua and Barbuda; Mr Phillip Turner from The Bahamas; Ms Lesa Collins and Mr Leonard Walters from Barbados; Ms Alix Boyd-Knight and Ms Jennifer Astaphan from Dominica; Ms Yves Marie Edouard from Haiti; Mr Glendon Bennett and Mr Lenworth Sterling from Jamaica; Mr Gasper Jn Baptiste from Saint Lucia; Mr Lionel Sydney Osborne from Saint Kitts and Nevis; Mr Sylvester King from St. Vincent and the Grenadines; Mr Renuka Raghoe from Suriname; and Ms Fern Narcis-Scope and Dr Noel Kalicharan from Trinidad and Tobago.

Members of the CARICOM Election Observertion Mission

The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) has said there are 661,000 eligible voters who will chose from among 11 political parties contesting the general and regional elections.

%d bloggers like this: